A Lesson Learned on Vacation

Hello Everyone,

I had a pretty cool epiphony when I was on vacation last week.

I was walking through Busch Gardens and saw a man walk passed me.

Being that I make my living in biomechanics, his walk really caught my attention.  As I looked closer I realized something.

He was probably in his late 30’s maybe early 40’s and he had the walk of someone who had recently suffered from a stroke.

This made me think…that young and suffered from a stroke.  Here I am walking freely, with no pain, and in complete health…without

even thinking about it, and he used to be able to do that.

Hopefully he will regain all of his function…and with the proper therapy it is very possible.  But at this moment in time, he has lost

some basic functions.

This reminded me of when I was 24 years old and suffering from a severely herniated disc.  I was not able to function.  I could not sit,

I could not work out, I could not practice martial arts or play sports.

My life was totally changed for the worse, and I missed my normal function every day… I dreamed and prayed for my function to return.

I finally broke down and had surgery which is always a last resort…I didn’t know this at 24 years of age or I would have taken a

different path.

But when I was blessed enough, post surgery to rehab myself to the point of my returned function I was so grateful.  I was thankful

everytime I sat for more than 5 minutes without pain, everytime I was able to perform in sports or martial arts I was thankful and

amazed to be able to do it pain free again.

Today….these blessings have become normal to me, and I don’t think about them regularly….an honestly take them for granted.

That is what happens to all of us, we take our health for granted until it is gone.

But when it is gone, we would sacrifice anything to get it back!  Anything!

So the random passing of this young stroke victim reminded me of the blessings of health.

When we wake up in the morning and chose to exercise, it is not a task, it is a celebration of the fact that we can exercise!

This guy had a profound effect on me, and he has no idea.  Now I hope through this article he is going to effect many of you as well.

The moral, celebrate your health, exercise, eat healthy, get rest, read inspirational messages and maintain your body through regular

Chiropractic adjustments and Massage therapy.

You don’t realize what you have until it is gone.

Have a wonderful day,

Dr. Price
www.DrSeanPrice.com
850-862-2224

(Dr. Price is a Chiropractor serving the Fort Walton Beach Community.  Dr. Price has had much success in treating patients suffering from Low Back Pain, Neck Pain, Headaches, Whiplash (or other injuries suffered in a car accident).  Utilizing his nonsurgical spinal decompression technologies, Dr. Price has helped many patients find long term relief from chronic pain conditions such as sciatica, spinal degeneration, herniated discs, buldging discs, and arthritis.  You can find Dr. Price in Fort Walton Beach by visiting www.DrSeanPrice.com or call his office at 850-862-2224.)

Leave a Reply

